ASLMS Announces Dr. Horace Furumoto Award Recipients

November 26, 2013

Michael H. Slayton, Ph.D. and Ishan Barman, Ph.D. will receive the Horace Furumoto Innovations Professional Development Awards at the upcoming meeting of the American Society for Laser Medicine & Surgery, Inc. (ASLMS), which will be held in April 2014, in Phoenix, AZ. Dr. Thomas Rohrer, Chair of the Awards Committee, commented, “While there were many worthy candidates for the award this year, Drs. Barman and Slayton's nominations clearly stood out to the Awards Committee. Dr. Barman's innovations in lasers and optics have already led to significant contributions to both early cancer detection and non-invasive glucose monitoring. Dr. Slayton's work has brought intense therapeutic ultrasound (ITU) to the forefront of the aesthetic medical device industry. I am sure Dr. Furumoto would be proud of their accomplishments.” Dr. Slayton has been nominated to receive the 2014 Distinguished Contribution Award which recognizes an individual who has played a significant role in industry with multiple accomplishments.

Facebook Comments


We’re glad to see you’re enjoying PracticalDermatology…
but how about a more personalized experience?

Register for free