ASDS Elects New Officers and Board Members


The American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) announced the election of Tom Rohrer, MD as Vice President as well as three new board members during its Annual Meeting in San Diego. 

The Society's newly elected officials will join President George Hruza, MD and President-Elect Naomi Lawrence, MD, and the board of directors to help lead the organization. ASDS officials also serve in the same capacity for the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery Association (ASDSA).

Dr. Rohrer  is a physician at SkinCare Physicians in Chestnut Hill and an Adjunct Associate Professor of Dermatology at Brown University in Rhode Island. He has been an active member of ASDS for nearly 20 years. Dr. Rohrer is a 2010 recipient of the ASDS President's Award and as Vice President will ascend to President-Elect in 2015-16 and President in 2016-17.

“I have watched ASDS grow each year. This growth is a reflection of how well our Society has been able to serve its members and offer real value. ASDS, and each of us individually, must do everything we can to protect our specialty and help it continue to grow in the potentially tumultuous years ahead. I look forward to being proactive and to aligning with other like-minded organizations to help dermatologic surgery flourish in the years to come,” he said.

Elected to three-year terms on the Board of Directors are: Ashish C. Bhatia, MD of Naperville, IL, Terrence A. Cronin Jr, MD of Melbourne, FL, and Derek H. Jones, MD, of Los Angeles. All three will serve until 2017.

Dr. Bhatia, an Assistant Professor of Clinical Dermatology at the Feinberg School of Medicine at Northwestern University, is also Director of Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery and Director of Clinical Laboratory Services at the Dermatology Institute in Naperville. He also is Medical Director of the Department of Clinical Research and Chairman of the Department of Dermatology of the DuPage Medical Group in Downers Grove, Ill. He has been an active member of ASDS for nearly 14 years and is a 2010 recipient of the ASDS Excellence in Education Award.

“It is a privilege to have the opportunity to give back to an organization that has given so much to me and to our specialty and our patients. I will support initiatives to increase public awareness of the mission of ASDS as well as the quality of care given and research performed by our members,” he said.

Dr. Cronin is an Assistant Voluntary Professor at the Miller School of Medicine at the University of Miami. His is also the Medical Director of the Cronin Skin Cancer Center in Melbourne. “I look forward to working for the membership to continue our unified advocacy for our specialty and the promotion of dermatologists and the surgeries we perform,” Cronin said.

Dr. Jones is a Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of California in Los Angeles. He is the founder and Medical Director of Skin Care and Laser Physicians of Beverly Hills in Los Angeles, Calif. He has been an ASDS member for nearly 15 years.

“ASDS and its members have nourished my academic research and clinical career more than any other professional organization, and it is with tremendous gratitude that I have served – and will continue to serve – this great organization,” he said.

Serving as ASDS President for 2014-15 is Dr. Hruza of Chesterfield, Mo. He is a Clinical Professor of Dermatology at St. Louis University. President-Elect Dr. Lawrence of Marlton, N.J., is a Professor of Clinical Medicine and head of the Division of Dermatology Section of Procedural Dermatology at Cooper University Health Care. Immediate Past President is Mitchel P. Goldman, M.D., of San Diego, Calif. He is a Clinical Professor in the Department of Dermatology at the University of California-San Diego in La Jolla. 


Facebook Comments


We’re glad to see you’re enjoying PracticalDermatology…
but how about a more personalized experience?

Register for free