AAD Announces 2019 Election Results


The votes have been counted in the 2019 AAD Election, and the following candidates will take office at the conclusion of the 2020 Annual Meeting in Denver, Colorado on March 24, 2020.

The President-Elect is Kenneth J. Tomecki, MD, FAAD and the Vice President-Elect is Neal Bhatia, MD, FAAD, who is also Practical Dermatology's Chief Medical Editor. The new members of the Board of Directors are Murad Alam, MD, MSCI, MBA, FAAD; Cheryl M. Burgess, MD, FAAD; Naomi Lawrence, MD, FAAD; and Amy McMichael, MD, FAAD. And the Nominating Committee Member Representative is Mark Lebwohl, MD, FAAD            

The Academy election results were provided by Election Services Corporation (ESC), an independent third-party entity that oversees the election process and ensures the privacy of the member vote and the integrity of the Academy election. For the 2019 Academy election, members submitted their ballot directly to ESC via its secure online website or by mail. After all ballots were tabulated, ESC provided AAD with the certified election results.

The election ballot packet was sent to 15,130 eligible voting members of the Academy. A total of 4,090 (27.03%) members returned ballots.

The 2019 Academy election also included proposed bylaws amendments, which must be approved by a two-thirds majority of the total votes cast to be adopted. Voters approved the following amendment:

Article III, Membership & Article IV, Election to Membership and Disciplinary Action

The proposed amendment would create a new International Associate category of membership and re-align other international membership categories to address inconsistencies in the current application process and align international categories with U.S. categories.

Facebook Comments


We’re glad to see you’re enjoying PracticalDermatology…
but how about a more personalized experience?

Register for free