ASDS Announces 2018 President's Award Recipients

October 10, 2018

In her final act as president this week, Lisa M. Donofrio, MD, recognizes four members of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) with the President’s Award at the Society’s Annual Meeting.

“One of the wonderful gifts about being president of an organization like this is the opportunity to recognize some of the special people and organizations who have helped the Society thrive,” Dr. Donofrio says. “I am fortunate to have the privilege of recognizing individuals who have made significant contributions to the Society or whose work has advanced our specialty in a meaningful way.”

Naomi Lawrence, MD, an ASDS Past President, is being acknowledged for her passion and commitment to the Society—even past her reign. She shares her knowledge, experience and countless hours serving as a faculty and committee member and journal assistant editor. Dr. Lawrence works tirelessly with the Society’s residency programs and surgical directors to ensure residents are fully trained in the breadth and scope of dermatology and has made notable efforts to fight unreasonable compounding regulations that impede dermatologists’ ability to deliver care efficiently and affordably.

Kavita Mariwalla, MD, is being recognized for her energy, time and drive to improve ASDS. Not only has she served on the ASDS / ASDSA Boards of Directors and Finance Committee, helped strengthen the Society’s relationship with industry and run the ASDS Annual Meeting, she has spent countless hours creating the Dermatologic Surgery Primer and the new Cosmeceutical Compendium. Both of these products have been financially successful and respected member resources. With a busy career and young family, ASDS is so fortunate for Dr. Mariwalla’s continued involvement and support.

Rhoda Narins, MD, is extremely valued as a leader and educator. She has selflessly shared her knowledge and experience with thousands of colleagues over the years and continues to do so. She is a trusted friend and mentor to many and has invested hours of personal time supporting ASDS as Associate Editor of Dermatologic Surgery, the Society’s journal and serving as Annual Meeting faculty, a work group member, Board member and Past President. The Society is also very appreciative of Dr. Narins’s willingness to serve as a mentor in the new Future Leaders Network Journal Review Program.

Cyndi Yag-Howard, MD, has supported ASDS through her role on various work groups, as a member of the Annual Meeting faculty and a member of the Editorial Board of Dermatologic Surgery, the Society’s journal. ASDS also values her work chairing the AMA Dermatology Section Council, which helped to advance those policies of greatest importance to dermatologic surgery. Dr. Yag-Howard leads by example, and her efforts have a notable impact on ASDS members.

The Allergan Foundation is being recognized for an ASDS President’s Award as a token of the Society’s sincere appreciation and gratitude for the generous, significant contributions it has made to ASDS over the years. Since 2008, the Allergan Foundation has donated over $2.25 million to advance the education of nearly 1,500 dermatology residents through the Annual Meeting Scholarship Program, to foster cosmetic dermatology research through the Fredric S. Brandt, MD, Innovations in Aesthetics Fellowship Fund, and to support the ASDS Dermasurgery Advancement Fund. The Allergan Foundation’s support has made a big impact on the Society’s ability to deliver high quality programs and opportunities for young dermatologists.

Facebook Comments


We’re glad to see you’re enjoying PracticalDermatology…
but how about a more personalized experience?

Register for free